This help topic explains how to use the Deleted Items screen to review, restore and permanently remove records that have been deleted from your system.
When you delete a record in KnowAll Matrix – such as a title, copy, loan, or order – it is not permanently deleted straightaway. Instead, it is moved to Deleted Items, which acts much like the Recycle Bin in Windows. (The one exception to this is if you opt to permanently delete users.)
Accessing the Deleted Items screen
- Log in as a Library Admin user.
- Click on Library Admin, then General, then Deleted records (Trash) (under Tools) to open the Deleted Items screen, as below.
- When you first open this screen, it screen lists all types of deleted records. Use the drop-down menu at the top of the screen to select only one type of record to view (if required).
- On the list, the Data Entity column refers to the type of record (e.g. Subjects, Titles), while Deleted Item details the specific record deleted. The deletion date and the user responsible are also listed.
Restoring a record
- To restore a record, click on the restore (arrow) icon at the end of the relevant row in the table. The prompt below will appear.
- Click the green Restore button to confirm. A message will appear on the Deleted Items screen confirming the successful restoration.
- To restore multiple items at once, place ticks in the leftmost column of the list next to each record you wish to restore. Then, click the Restore Selected button, and Restore again when prompted.
Permanently deleting a record
- To delete a record, click the delete (bin/trash can) icon at the end of the relevant row in the table. The below prompt will appear.
- Click Confirm Delete to confirm. A message will appear to confirm the successful deletion.
- To delete multiple items at once, place ticks in the leftmost column of the list next to each record you wish to delete. Then, click the Delete Selected button, and Delete again when prompted.