1. Home
  2. OPAC
  3. How to add/maintain Notifications on the Home Page

How to add/maintain Notifications on the Home Page

Introduction

This article describes how to add and edit Notifications on the OPAC Home Page and on the Library Admin Dashboard. These function as announcements which can be made visible to all users, or only to Library Admin users (on the Dashboard). They appear in the Notifications gadget as “Announcements”, so, the Notifications gadget must be enabled (please see the Help Topic on Configuring Home Page Content).

Adding a new Notification

  • Log in as a Library Admin User and click on Library Admin.
  • Click on OPAC, and then under Notifications, click Add Notification.
  • In the window that appears (Add New Notification – see below), you will find the following options for adding a new Notification:
    • Scope: selecting from the drop-down menu determines whether the Notification appears on the OPAC screen for all users, or only for Library Admin users.
    • Headline: the headline for the Notification.
    • Text/Message: the main body of the Notification.
    • Position: determines Notification sort order.
    • Visible: yes/no.
    • Expiry date: allows you to set an expiry date; useful for Notifications that only need to be displayed for a limited time.
  • Click Save to save your changes. This Notification will now be displayed on the OPAC Home Page, according to your settings.

Maintaining Notifications

  • Log in as a Library Admin User and click on Library Admin.
  • Click on OPAC, and then under Notifications, click Maintain Notifications.
  • This will display the Notifications screen, featuring a list of Notifications, as per the below example.
  • A drop-down menu at the top of this screen can be used to filter out Notifications visible on the OPAC Home Page, those only visible to admin users, or both.
  • To create a new Notification click on Add New (as per the above instructions).
  • You can edit existing Notifications by clicking on the pencil icon at the end of the row. Alternatively, the sort order may be changed by clicking the up/down arrows.
  • Click on the bin icon (next to the pencil) to delete the Notification.
  • When deleting, you will be asked to confirm, as below. Click Confirm Delete to confirm.
Updated on March 7, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply