1. Home
  2. Users
  3. Making bulk changes to Library User accounts

Making bulk changes to Library User accounts

Introduction

This help topic explains how changes can be made to multiple user accounts simultaneously.

Changing user accounts

  • Log in as a Library Admin user.
  • Click on the Library Admin menu, then click Users.
  • Under Users Admin, click Library Users A-Z to open the Library Users A-Z screen, as below.

Library Users A-Z

  • By default, only live library users are shown.
  • Use the drop-down menu at the top of the page if you wish to filter on different types of users (deactivated users, redacted users, opted-in users etc.).
  • Use the letters (displayed left-to-right)  to filter alphabetically.
  • Use the tick boxes at the left hand side of the screen to select multiple users at once. Selecting the tick box next to the column headers will select every user in the list.
  • Once you have made a selection, use the Bulk Actions or Delete Options menu to make changes to all the selected user accounts simultaneously.

Bulk Actions

Bulk Actions menu

  • Use the Bulk Actions menu to change the same attribute against multiple user records at once, such as class, department, location and reading group.
  • Click the Opt-In/Opt-Out options to mark these users as having opted in to/out of email communication.
  • Click Deactivate/Activate Selected to mark the users as in/active. (Inactive users will be hidden by default, but not deleted.)
  • Click Anonymise (Redact) Selected to remove personal information from any selected accounts. Names and usernames will be replaced with random character strings. Note that this is irreversible.

Delete Options

Delete Options menu

  • Click Move Selected to Trash (Recycle) Bin to delete the user. Users in the Recycle bin can be restored later if you change your mind.
    • To access the Recycle Bin, click on Library Admin, then Users, then Deleted Users (Recycle Bin) (under Users Admin).
  • Click Deactivate/Activate Selected to mark the users as in/active. (Inactive users will be hidden by default, but not deleted.)
  • Click Anonymise (Redact) Selected to remove personal information from any selected accounts. Names and usernames will be replaced with random character strings. Note that this is irreversible.
  • Click Permanently Delete Selected to permanently delete these records and all associated data (including loan history). This is irreversible.
Updated on July 11, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply